Book Review: American Royals by Katharine McGee

American Royals by Katharine McGee

Book Title: American Royals

Author: Katharine McGee

Date Published: September 3rd 2019 by Ember

Number of Pages: 464 (Paperback)

Date I Read: June 1-6, 2020


Synopsis

(From Goodreads) What if America had a royal family?

When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne.

As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America’s first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling.

Nobody cares about the spare except when she’s breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn’t care much about anything, either . . . except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her.

And then there’s Samantha’s twin, Prince Jefferson. If he’d been born a generation earlier, he would have stood first in line for the throne, but the new laws of succession make him third. Most of America adores their devastatingly handsome prince . . . but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart. 


Book Review

Alternate history? Royals? Intertwined romance? Sign me up!

First of all, while I loved the The Thousandth Floor trilogy, I wasn’t actually planning to read this one. I’ve seen the adamant ratings and I honestly thought the blurb was meh.

I had a change of heart when a BookTuber recommended this novel for having one of the best contemporary romances. She also mentioned that one romance plot involves the heir and a bodyguard. So, of course, I just have to pick up this book. After all, I’m occasionally partial to forbidden love teams and trashy romances.

You wanna know what the funny thing is? The objective part of me is screaming to give this novel at least 2 stars at best (it’s THAT trash). But since when did I listen to my objective self? So, screw it and I’ll rate this 3.5 stars instead (I’m THAT trashy) because I did enjoy reading this.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Writing Style

I personally didn’t have any difficulty following the changes in POVs. As always, Katharine McGee’s writing is very easy to follow. It’s so easy to follow that I haven’t realized this novel contains 400+ pages. And by the time I read the last page, I was actually surprised that I’m already at the ending. It just feels so short despite the number of pages.

However, it is the kind of in-your-face writing style that tells instead of shows things. So, it might not be everyone’s cup of tea. For me, it’s acceptable, though, considering that this is a YA Contemporary Romance novel.


Plot / World Building

What plot? Is there even a plot?! Kidding.

But, really, on a serious note, if you’re looking for political intrigue or historical aspects, American Royals is not the novel for you. Otherwise, if you’re here for romances, drama, and angsty teenagers, then you’re right on board!

Honestly, from the blurb, I can already tell that this novel won’t deeply tackle the changes in American history. I’m actually okay with that as McGee’s writing style has always been more fitted for superficial teenagers’ lives…and I meant that as a compliment. No teenage drama can hook me better than Katharine McGee’s stories.

However, some part of me still hoped that there would be decent worldbuilding or heck, just a solid one-pager that explained why things happened the way it has. Well, that didn’t happen and I’m completely disappointed about the lack of world-building. I’m just catapulted into this alternate history for vague, and often cringy, reasons.

Aside from the lack of world-building, the book’s plot is severely misguided, or perhaps, a little too predictable. I didn’t even know what the main plot is all about but somehow, I know where the plot is going. I honestly don’t know how to properly explain this. I’m just so confused about what this book is trying to say—IF it’s even saying something.

In short, American Royals is like one major soap opera that solely revolves around the characters’ pining for the person they love. I hate it but I also enjoyed reading it.


Characters

I have mixed thoughts about the characters of this novel. While I found them all enjoyable to read, they are also downright basic. Even Daphne, the so-called antagonist of this novel, falls short.

I mean if you’re gonna give me drama, give me a proper drama. One that’s gonna make me gasp because of the scandals, backstabbing, and okay, even murder. Unfortunately, everyone was actually nice deep inside and even understanding to one another.


Overall Thoughts

While this book is full of flaws (the lack of world-building, the occasional one-dimensional characters), I still enjoyed reading it! I like unfolding the life of the royals—no matter how insignificant and privileged they are—and seeing how this affected the people around them.

Overall, American Royals is a guilty-pleasure read. So, if you’re into royals, petty drama, and a sorry excuse for romances, then this book is for you! Otherwise, you’ll just cringe and roll your eyes throughout and perhaps, even throw the book as far away as possible.


Visit my Goodreads review of this book in which I talk more about the characters and plot!


Let’s Talk!

What if America did have a royal family? Would you prefer it over a democracy? No hateful comments, please! I just want to hear your thoughts about this book!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.